Hildebrand McLeod & Nelson LLP - Hildebrand McLeod & Nelson LLP
Representing Plaintiffs Since 1926

Call To Speak With An Attorney

COVID-19 Update: Hildebrand McLeod & Nelson LLP operations are uninterrupted. Our attorneys are available to both existing and potential clients. We are still conducting consultations via video conference and telephone. Contact us today for your free consultation.

Image from an actual HMN case, reproduced with permission

What are the type of comas?

| May 28, 2018 | Catastrophic Injuries |

A coma is a condition that can happen after a catastrophic injury. While you may have heard of this type of medical condition before, what you may not know is there are different types of comas. If you have a loved one who is in a coma in a California hospital, it may be helpful to understand each type. 

WebMD explains there are six types of comas. If your loved one has suffered a serious head injury, then he or she may be placed in a medically induced coma, which helps to stop swelling. This is done by giving the patient medications to include a coma. After a severe injury, a person may also go into an anoxic brain injury coma. This is caused by lack of oxygen to the brain. Injuries may also lead to brain death, which is state when there is no brain activity. It is caused by extensive injuries to the brain. The last type of coma caused by injury is a persistent vegetative state. This is when a person is unconscious and incapable of moving and unaware of what is happening. 

The last two types of comas are caused by medical issues. Locked-in syndrome causes almost every muscle in your body to be paralyzed. Only your eye muscles are left functioning. In this type of coma, you are completely aware of everything around you, but you cannot move or respond except with your eyes. The final type of coma can be caused by different medical conditions and is when the brain does not function properly. It is called toxic-metabolic encephalopathy. This information is for education and is not legal advice.