Hildebrand McLeod & Nelson LLP

Representing Plaintiffs Since 1926

Call To Speak With An Attorney 800-689-7066

Important COVID19 Update: We know this is a stressful time for many, so we want to reassure you HMN is taking every measure to ensure the welfare of our staff and the continuity of our service to our clients. HMN continues to work to ensure that our valued staff, clients and families are following all recommendations provided by our local, state and national leadership. We are actively communicating with the courts to reschedule any proceedings and will continue to inform our clients of those developments. HMN remains available at any time via phone calls, emails and video chat. We are here for you no matter what unexpected life changes occur and that remains true today.

We also wish to express our utmost gratitude to the healthcare professionals working tirelessly to care for our community. Our thoughts are with all those impacted by the Coronavirus.

What are the type of comas?

A coma is a condition that can happen after a catastrophic injury. While you may have heard of this type of medical condition before, what you may not know is there are different types of comas. If you have a loved one who is in a coma in a California hospital, it may be helpful to understand each type. 

WebMD explains there are six types of comas. If your loved one has suffered a serious head injury, then he or she may be placed in a medically induced coma, which helps to stop swelling. This is done by giving the patient medications to include a coma. After a severe injury, a person may also go into an anoxic brain injury coma. This is caused by lack of oxygen to the brain. Injuries may also lead to brain death, which is state when there is no brain activity. It is caused by extensive injuries to the brain. The last type of coma caused by injury is a persistent vegetative state. This is when a person is unconscious and incapable of moving and unaware of what is happening. 

The last two types of comas are caused by medical issues. Locked-in syndrome causes almost every muscle in your body to be paralyzed. Only your eye muscles are left functioning. In this type of coma, you are completely aware of everything around you, but you cannot move or respond except with your eyes. The final type of coma can be caused by different medical conditions and is when the brain does not function properly. It is called toxic-metabolic encephalopathy. This information is for education and is not legal advice. 


No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

Schedule A Free Consultation

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy


350 Frank H. Ogawa Plaza 4th Floor Oakland, CA 94612 Oakland Law Office Map

700 North Brand Blvd. Suite 860 Glendale, CA 91203 Map & Directions